The Power of Three

There is power in 3’s.  One of the most interesting concepts is the power of 3.  Just think about it for a moment:

Earth is the 3rd rock from the sun.

The English Language grants our first 3 digits with unique endings: first, second, third, but the rest are followed by a measly “th”.

Sporting events typically award players up to third place.

We are given 3 choices of drink size: Small, Medium, Large

The 3 Musketeers, The Three Little Pigs, The Three Bears…

There are 3 national networks: ABC, NBC, CBS (ok, so now there’s FOX)

Even the Stooges came in “3’s”.

As you think about how many iconic and powerful things come in 3’s, reflect back on your first 3 years in your chosen profession.  Most likely your career improved each year and by the third year you probably reached a level of comfort you never thought you’d feel during your first year. By the 3rd year, you were probably ready for another change.

When it comes to teaching, relocating, trying something new, or reading a book, think about the power of 3.

Teaching: By your third year, you know the content well and can navigate a classroom with confidence.

Relocating: After three years, you’ve made strong connections, built relationships and know how to live like a local.

Trying Something New: You’ve likely mastered the skill.

Reading a Book: Each time you read, you discover something new or deepened your connection to the story or characters. Each time you read it’s a different experience.

Change is hard.

Change is scary.

Change is healthy.

But three years in, you might realize that change was just what you needed.

Even if it takes 3 years to feel that way.

 

6 thoughts on “The Power of Three

  1. This idea is so cool ~ now I’m generating all kinds of “groups of 3” things in my head!
    I definitely found my comfort zone during year #3 of teaching. My first two years were in special education, and my third year was the start of my 4th grade adventure – still going strong in 4th grade!

  2. There is a lot of power in 3 – one of my favorite numbers. I was just thinking – this is my 13th year of teaching (took 10 years off in the middle to be home with my kiddos), and it’s the first time I’ve been in the same job for four years. (My husband gets transferred a lot.) I’m excited to see what “four” brings.

    1. Mine too! How do you feel about your third year? I know each year we get better and more comfortable, but there’s something to be said about the third time—it’s a charm! 🙂 Thank you so much for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

